Checkered Flag Winners

Starting in 2009, the Pittsburgh Vintage Grand Prix Association began awarding embroidered checkered flags to recognize the extraordinary efforts of its volunteers and partners. The first flag was awarded posthumously to our Chief Starter Don “Downtown” Brown. Don was one of our original volunteers and the man who waved the checkered flag at the PVGP finish line for 26 years! Since then we have waved the flag for 105 people listed below.

The list continues to grow each year because the PVGP has hundreds of volunteers and supporters who give an incredible amount of time and effort each year. Congratulations to all!

Some of the 2021 winners: Andy Schor, Derek & Marls Kuntz, Janel and Carole Ann Capezutto, Terri Hohman, Jim Kinest, Ray Sandherr, Jason Kaplan, Jeff Hutzelman, Greg Farrar and Jan McCoy.


Jim Kinest – Corvette Marque of the Year Captain
Janel  Capezutto – Patron Parking and Vintage Rides Coordinator
Carole Ann Capezutto – Patron Parking and Vintage Rides Coordinator
Ray Sandherr – Intern
Patrick Martin – Vintage Motorbikes
Derek Kuntz – Countryside Tour
Marla Taylor – Countryside Tour
Jan McCoy – Car Show Gate Volunteer and Racer
Jason Kaplan – Raceside Volunteer
Greg Farrar – Raceside Volunteer and Race Course Construction
Jeff Hutzelman – Timing & Scoring
Andy Schor – Cortile and Jet Center Volunteer
Terri Hohmann – Glass Art Artist
Pete Szymanski – Kick-Off Rallye and Clubhouse Volunteer
Tom Rohrich – Cadillac Sponsor and Board of Directors
John Ross – Race Registrar


Kip Andreas – Race side volunteer
Debbie Seville– Race registration volunteer
Gary Gentile 
– Race side volunteer
Joe Weaver – 
Car Show volunteer
The Ford Family – 
Car Show volunteers
The Mathias Family 
-Car Show volunteers
Gary Sciulli 
– City of Pittsburgh
George Libby 
– Corner Worker
Dave DelBianco
 – Donation Station volunteer
Jason Uhler 
– Mustang/Shelby Marque of the Year Chairperson
Jim Neville 
– Alfa Romeo Club and Cortile Della Corsa Chairman
Wayne Long-
 Alfa Romeo Club and Cortile Della Corsa
Strongstown B&K 
– Partner/Track Construction
Mayor Bill Peduto – Presented at Opening Ceremonies


Corky Bennett – HAM Radio Captain
Mike Csonka 
– Flagstaff Hill Parking
Jim & Kelly Gezo – 
Race-side, show-side and Race Week volunteers
Clare & Wayne Kaufmann
 – Race side volunteers since 1985
Bob McKeown – Car Collector and PVGP Car Show Participant
Brad Meyer – Clubhouse
Allan Rubin – Race side volunteer since 2006
Lenny Santora – Corner worker and volunteer since 1991
Reid Smith
 – Donation Stations Captain and sponsor
Andrew Stockey – Emcee for Blacktie Gala and unofficial PVGP ambassador
Manfred Woodall
 – Media and Website Team
Allegheny Chapter BMW Club – 2018 Marque of the Year Club
Bobby Rahal Auto Group – Sponsor and Marque of the Year dealership


Dotti Bechtol– Treasurer/Board of Directors & Racer
John Bechtol
– Competition Director
Bob Borgo
 – Race Director
Heidi Buckley– Patron Parking
James Dolan
– Racer and Board of Directors
Greg Farrell – Walnut Street Car Show Chair
Susan Gera – Media and Jet Center Co-Chair
Chris Granche – Assistant Race Director
Karen Hanchett– Chief of Motorcycle Security
Dan Holmes 
– Creative Director
Barry Kaplan 
– Chief Safety Steward
Walt Mantenkosky
 – Chief Course Marshal
Brian Urban– Assistant Race Director
Ken Wojnar
 – Operating Committee
Pittsburgh International Race Complex
 –  Sponsor and Partner


Ramona Corey – VIP Pavilion Captain
Stan Geier – Board of Directors and Sponsor
Don Johnson – Jaguar Club and Race-side Volunteer
Ken Murin – Competition Committee and Race-side Volunteer
Amy Rocini – Merakey AVS/Merchandise Volunteers
Ed Rice – Porsche Club representative and sponsor
Gigi Saladna – Board of Directors and Black-Tie Gala Committee
Tom Schweitzer – Outgoing President British Car Day, Car Club Committee
Steve Struebing – Race-side Volunteer, Operating Committee
Steve Weber – On-Site Media and Operating Committee
Danny Yanda – Competition Committee and former Board member


Don Baker – Timing & Scoring and Operating Committee
Ray Christner – Transportation Captain and Operating Committee
George Jacoby – Outgoing Chairman – PVGP Board of Directors
Cliff Laschon – Cars N Coffee Captain and Operating Committee
Bud & Cindy Osbourne – Countryside Tour Captains
Bill Permar – Allegheny Chapter BMW Club and Operating Committee
John Putzier – Presenting Sponsor GPADF
Bill Seaman – Race Course Construction and Media
Michael Schindel – Competition Committee, Flashlight Drags and Racer
Meghan Speer – Asian Car Show Captain and Operating Committee
Bill Stoler – Race Photographer
Les Walter – Timing & Scoring and Operating Committee
Eric Zagrocki– Allegheny Chapter BMW Club and Operating Committee


Dean & Meredith Croucher – Chief Stewards
Cathy Dernorsek
 – PVGP Executive Committee, Volunteers and Security
Ron George – American Car Show Captain
Rich Haeflein – Shop ‘n Save Sponsor
Tait Hilbert – Chief of Grid
Matt Little – Official PVGP Photographer
Paul Miller – Car Show Committee and Registration
Mark Morrow – American Car Show Captain
Mark Sheldon – European Car Show Captain
Ted Sohier – PVGP Executive Committee and Race Announcer


Ray & Kristine Dembowski – Corner Workers
Rocky Farrar & Family – Race Course Set-Up and Tear Down
John Gloninger – PVGP Executive Committee and Patron Parking Captain
Bill Haus – PVGP Executive Director and Historics Race Director
Deborah Liotus – Executive Committee and  Treasurer
Vince Longo Jr. & Christopher Longo – MINI Track Rides
Bernie Martin – Italian Cortile and Social Media Director
Tip Paul – Vintage Motorbike Show Captain
Don Privett – Vendor Village Captain and Waterfront Car Cruise Captain
Joe & Vicki Ropar – Flagger/Corner Worker Captains
Richard Spring – Downtown Car Show Captain
Dan Taylor – PVGP Board of Directors and Sponsor
Jake Zoller – RR Donnelley Printing Partner


Jeff Duxbury – Schenley Park Golf Course Superintendant
Jerry & Barb Longstreth – Merchandise, Car Show Committee and Marque of the Year
Paul & Sue MacIntyre – PVGP Executive Committee, Merchandise and Kick-Off Rallye
Ron Mahoney – 2012 Poster Artist
Bob Speer -PVGP Executive Committee and Showside Director


Regis Champ – AVS Chairman and PVGP Board of Directors
Donna McDonough – PVGP Executive Committee and Chief Registrar
Chris Sandvig – PVGP Executive Committee and Race Program Editor
Maggie Schmotzer – PVGP Board of Directors and Blacktie Chair


Jim Burke – 2010 Poster Artist and contributing artist for 20 years
Dave & Pam Finney – Thunder Run Motorcycle Captains
Rich Haeflein – SHOP n’ SAVE Presenting Sponsor


Don Brown – Executive Committee and Chief Starter (in memory)
Mike Connolly – Race Director, Board Member and President of Executive Committee
John Kerr – PVGP Executive Committee and Logistics for all Events
Dan Torisky – Founder, Board of Directors and Operating Committee

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.